Thursday, July 21, 2011
Baby shower with number four?
I am pregnant with my fourth child, and am facing a conundrum of sorts. With my first pregnancy, I didn't have a baby shower. I kept expecting someone to suggest one, but no one did! I didn't want to ask for one myself; it seemed rude, so I just didn't have one. My mother in law later told me she expected my parents to throw me one and was waiting for them to invite her, and my parents said the same thing of her! Lol. (She can a bit overbearing and does tend to take over with things like that.) The second time around everyone felt guilty and threw me a huge joint shower where we got so much stuff it was insane. We were having a second boy, and had all the big items we needed, so it felt pointless, though I thoroughly enjoyed it! I actually turned down a shower with my third boy, as we had everything we needed, and instead we hosted a "meet and greet" after the baby was born where we invited people over at specific intervals throughout the day so they could see the new baby and bring gifts if they wanted, but didn't feel pressured by the thought that other people would be there with gifts. (good thing, since he was actually a very large she! People were able to bring over gifts appropriate for her gender and size!) After she was born, we decided to wait several years before having another, and with limited storage space, we gave away all our baby stuff. So imagine my surprise when here we are, a year later, with another baby on the way. We no longer have a swing, car seat, bouncer, etc. etc. I don't want to ask for a baby shower, but we are not financially set to repurchase all those things we gave away! Would it be rude to host a shower or ask for money myself? Should I hint at it to my MIL or parents? Or should I just suck it up and deal with my own mistake?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment